Critics’ Choice Real TV Awards Announce Host, Presenters

Los Angeles (May 29, 2019) – The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) and NPACT, the trade organization serving the producers of nonfiction entertainment content, announced today that comedian and co-host of the Emmy and NAACP Image Award-winning show The Real, Loni Love, will host the inaugural Critics’ Choice Real TV Awards.  Also announced, Leah Remini is set to receive the first ever Impact Award, recognizing her work on her groundbreaking series Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath.

The ceremony, which will recognize excellence in nonfiction, unscripted and reality programming across broadcast, cable and streaming platforms, takes place Sunday, June 2 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.  VH1 will broadcast the show on Sunday, June 9.

They will be joined by additional presenters including Ben Bailey (Cash Cab), Joey Fatone (Common Knowledge), Akbar Gbaja-Biamila (American Ninja Warrior), Chrishell Hartley (Selling Sunset), Terri, Bindi, and Robert Irwin (Crikey!  It’s The Irwins), Matt Iseman (American Ninja Warrior), Lala Kent (Vanderpump Rules), Mark McKinnon (The Circus), Jack Osbourne (Portals To Hell), Alfonso Ribeiro (AFHV), Phil Rosenthal (Somebody Feed Phil), RuPaul (RuPaul’s Drag Race), Colton Underwood (The Bachelor), John and Callahan Walsh (In Pursuit With John Walsh), Katrina Weidman (Portals To Hell), Justin Willman (Magic For Humans), and many more!

As announced earlier this month, “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1) leads this year’s field with five nominations including Competition Series,  Ensemble Cast in an Unscripted Series, Female Star of the Year (Michelle Visage), Male Star of the Year (RuPaul Charles), and Show Host (RuPaul Charles).  Additionally, “RuPaul’s Drag Race: Untucked!” (VH1) earned a nod of its own for Unstructured Series.

See also  ICYMI: Procter & Gamble and Tribeca Collaborate

Netflix’s “Queer Eye” follows close behind with four nominations for Ensemble Cast in an Unscripted Series, Lifestyle Show: Fashion/Beauty, Male Star of The Year (Jonathan Van Ness), and Structured Series. Two other Netflix programs, “Our Planet,” and “Tidying Up with Marie Kondo” were nominated for three awards each: the former for Animal/Nature Show, Limited Documentary Series, and Male Star of The Year (David Attenborough), and the latter for Female Star of the Year (Marie Kondo), Lifestyle Show: Home/Garden, and Structured Series.  The streaming platform leads this year’s network tally with 33 total nominations.

Created to give the thriving, ever-evolving genre critical attention and support, the BTJA- and NPACT-developed awards show is adapted from, and replaces, the NPACT Impact Awards held last year. In addition to the critics’ choices, the show will feature two fan-voted awards, and three peer-selected awards given to those who have made significant contributions to the industry.

Bob Bain and Joey Berlin will serve as Executive Producers.  Ed Martin serves as President of the BTJA.  John Ford is General Manager of NPACT, with Michelle Van Kempen serving as Head of Policy & Development.  Tiny Horse is on board as Social Media Producer.  The BFCA and BTJA are represented by Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
Author: Sammi Turano
Sammi has been a journalist for over a decade, specializing in entertainment, lifestyle, sports and celebrity news. She is the owner of TVGrapevine and Football in High Heels and the Host of Grapevine in High Heels With Sammi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *